Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Itsyntensity

Letting Go and Letting God

December 31 2018 , Written by The Thinker

 

It is the last few hours of the year and I am nothing but amused at the current trend on social media. It seems like everyone has been going on or off about cutting people off. In my head, it only makes sense that, if someone displeases you, if you really care about them, you tell them what they did, why it was displeasing and that it hurt you and leave it up to them to either show remorse and salvage the friendship or explain where they were coming from. Cutting people is absurdly immature. All in all, I am grateful for my platoon of friends who opted not to cut me off.

This year, was by far my most productive year, making new friends and accomplishing feats I had not managed to accomplish in a while. So it goes without saying that this year, I am grateful, for those who forced me to grow. Pushed me out of the slump I was in, those that call me almost daily to see if I am alive (Special mention for Victor, Lemuel and Mercille,- because however mad we are at each other we always check-in ). But there are those who expressly decided they will “cut me off”. To be honest, I am never surprised by this things anymore. I feel like, wherever emotional immaturity is present, there will be a time when people will be unable to have mature conversations. Conversations that demand that pain be felt and be expressed, and even in doing so, remain candid and objective. They cannot simply say, you did this and it hurt me, so that you can understand and perhaps explain the circumstances and teach you what to do and what not to do. They go with, “never talk to me again” or “you are so unfeeling” , “it was nice knowing you”. Lol you know yourselves.

However I feel like this for me was simply a final push to let go. I’ve been holding those friends so dear, even loving from a distance. However, it really was about time I let go. All those memories, however good, seem to be reminders of sad moments, pictures, gifts, (so I will also press delete) as drastic as it may seem, it may actually be time to let go and erase. To leave no trace of the past. Though I am never one to expressly shut people off, a new start may mean letting go. If they do come back, welcome them with open arms, but as cautiously as you can, knowing what they did before. How unfortunate is it though, to cut off someone, right about the time prosperity is knocking at their door. Huwezi rudi useme, niaje msee.

For those of us who have watched karate kid, the scene where Mr. Miyagi keeps pouring water into an already full cup of hot water that the boy is holding, until Ralph says stop. The idea was simple, if your cup is already full, you have no space for any more new things. So one must empty their cup and then receive fresh water.

One more thing, for those who have departed from you, it really is a spiritual concept 1st John 2 : 19 They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would no doubt have continued with us: but they went out, that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us.

I am reminded that I am not the same person I was, but their familiarity will not allow them to see that. So since a prophet is never really accepted in their home town, once has to learn to adapt and adjust to how people will misconceive those things and how they will treat the new you. As we all know, familiarity breeds contempt. Those that leave though, were not planning on staying from the beginning. It was merely a temporary stop, so one must accept and move on. Therefore, learn to let go, so that your cup is empty, and can be filled with fresh things. Learn to let go and let God.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post